Do you want to be blessed?

Do you want to be “blessed”? If so, then it is very important to read and understand what Jesus taught in Matthew 5:3-12. Within these verses, Jesus specifies eight groups of people who will be “blessed” because of who they are and what they do. These “Beatitudes” specifically describe what it takes to enjoy spiritual well-being and prosperity (be blessed).

3 “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.

4 Blessed are they that mourn, for they shall be comforted.

5 Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

6 Blessed are they that hunger and thirst after righteousness, for they shall be filled.

7 Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.

8 Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

9 Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called the children of God.

10 Blessed are they that are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.

11 Blessed are ye when men shall revile you and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely for My sake.

12 Rejoice and be exceeding glad, for great is your reward in Heaven; for so persecuted they the prophets who were before you.”

To the best of my understanding, here are the eight things necessary to be blessed:

  1. Be poor in spirit which is to be spiritually humble
  2. Mourn for the sin in our lives and in the world
  3. Be meek (be coachable and teachable)
  4. Hunger and thirst after righteousness
  5. Be merciful which includes forgiveness as well as the desire to relieve the misery of others
  6. Be pure in heart, having no hypocrisy, hidden agendas or evil intent
  7. Be a peacemaker instead of a troublemaker
  8. Rejoice in being persecuted and reviled for righteousness’ sake

With each statement there is a corresponding promise of a blessing to come now or later:

  1. Kingdom of Heaven
  2. Comfort
  3. Inherit the earth
  4. Filled
  5. Receive mercy
  6. See God
  7. Called children of God
  8. Kingdom of Heaven/Great reward in Heaven

Isn’t it interesting that in two cases, the blessing is the promise of the Kingdom of Heaven? Isn’t it also interesting how it takes 3 verses to expound upon the eighth Beatitude whereas it only takes one verse for each of the first seven?

Very simply put, if you want to be blessed there are 8 things to dwell upon and consciously seek to do or become in your life. The promise of God is that in each case His blessing will make it worth all the work or hardship involved. Although the standard laid out by Jesus is higher than our mind can grasp, with God’s help we can rise up and manifest these eight qualities that in many respects separate us, as Christians, from everyone else on this planet and be blessed in the process.

Sandy Brooks @poodlelady ·

Thanks B2Y

This is definitely a thought provoking eye opening blog.


K Reynolds @kreynolds ·

It's all laid out very simply isn't it, B2Y? All of these things require us to lay down what is commonly referred to as our rights. They require us to set aside our own will. When we do so... we will be blessed!


K :princess:

Kenneth Figurelli @bibleguy64 ·

Thanks for your insights into the Beatitudes.

Do not include honorifics.

Recent Blogs By Kirk M

© ChristianBlog.Com 2020 Global Policies